Skip to content

Top Ten Movies of 2010

January 2, 2011

I’ve had several requests for a “Top Ten” list of movies for 2010, so here goes nothin’.  It hasn’t been an overwhelmingly wonderful year at the movies, but the ones that were great were FANTASTIC.

If I already have written a review of the movie, I’ve given the link to access that review.  If I haven’t  reviewed it, I’ve linked you to another review for more information.  The descriptions are brief, but for more information, see the Rapid Review or link.

10.) Easy A

Emma Stone’s wonderfully deadpan performance and a supporting cast and script cleverly  prove that there’s more to teen comedy than 80s cliches would have you believe.  Stone’s Olive Pendergast  is smart, uncompromising and not afraid to stand up to her ridiculous peers, which is more than I can say about most movie teens.  Easy A does for Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter what Clueless did for Emma – give a new spin on a old yarn.

Roger Ebert’s on-target review:  http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20100915/REVIEWS/100919992/0/SCANNERS

9.) Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World

A fun concept, snazzy little script and fun performances by Michael Cera, Allison Pill and the crazed but brilliant Ellen Wong as Knives Chau – the world’s most intense ex-girlfriend.  It’s not your standard Saturday morning fare, but that’s what makes it so interesting.

Here’s an accurate review from The Globe and Mail:

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/arts/movies/scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world-a-super-duper-ficial-world/article1670906/

8.) Toy Story 3

Yes, it is a kids’ movie.  Yes, I cried like a baby.  What an incredible franchise, and what a way to close out Pixar’s groundbreaking series. 

Here’s my original review:

https://irulan18.wordpress.com/2010/06/22/rapid-review-toy-story-3/

7.) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Pt. One

This is probably my second favorite of the movie “Harrys”, after the masterfully dark Prisoner of Azkaban.  It has just the right amount of gravitas and sentimentality, not to mention a hefty dose of cinematic brilliance to accent the incredible characters we’ve seen grow up on the screen.

My original review:

https://irulan18.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/rapid-review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-part-one/

6.) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

The Swedish version of the hit novel was an immersive thriller with a few casting flaws, but on the whole is one of the most watchable and unique films of the year.  It will be hard for David Fincher to top in the American version, even with Daniel Craig along for the ride.

Ebert’s Review:http://rogerebert.suntimes.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20100317/REVIEWS/100319981

5.) True Grit

The Coen brothers’ morose but captivating re-make of one girl’s journey to seek revenge contains three of the best performances of the year by Hailee Steinfeld, Matt Damon and the always interesting Jeff Bridges. 

My original review:

https://irulan18.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/rapid-review-true-grit/

4.) Black Swan

A dark, fractured fairy tale with a twist ending and even twistier performances, Swan is the antidote for all the pink frosting-covered previous films about the ballet world.  At the same time both a thriller and a character study, it is easily one of the most complex movies in theaters right now.

My original review:

https://irulan18.wordpress.com/2010/12/19/rapid-review-black-swan/

3.) Inception

Christopher Nolan’s mind-bending journey through the subconscious is a sharp, intelligent gift to movie audiences everywhere.  Plus, it has a breakout star in Brit Tom Hardy, who is one of those “where have I seen him before” kind of actors destined for greatness.

My original review:

https://irulan18.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/rapid-review-inception/

2.) Winter’s Bone

I simply cannot laud this little picture enough.  It is a masterful, almost Shakespearean tale of a young teen’s nightmarish search for her father in the hinterlands of the Ozark meth culture.  See it already, if my nagging hasn’t worked yet.  It’s out on DVD.

My original review:

https://irulan18.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/rapid-review-winters-bone/

1.) The King’s Speech

Some may think it an “obvious” choice, but this stunning true story of the delicate but history-making relationship between George VI and his speech therapist was easily the most interesting and moving movie I’ve seen in years.  It doesn’t need 3D, flashy casting or an appearance at Comic-Con to win both the heart and the mind.

My original review:

https://irulan18.wordpress.com/2010/12/28/rapid-review-the-kings-speech/

There you have it!  Happy movie watching, and I’ll see you for my first Rapid Review of 2011 in the near future!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 5:27 pm

    And the lists already start making their way out! I quite like this list even though I’ve only seen half of it. I need to check out some more before I’m ready to make my own. This is an overall weak year for movies I think, but there were some gems like Inception and the latest Harry Potter. Did you see the Social Network at all?

    • January 3, 2011 2:57 pm

      I haven’t seen The Social Network yet. My husband/movie watching date wasn’t all that interested in seeing it. It’s at the top of the Netflix queue. I’m also hoping to get around to seeing The Kids Are All Right – it’s sitting in front of my DVD player right now!

Leave a Reply

