Skip to content

Favorite Beatles Songs

May 31, 2010

So, in honor of a movie I really need to see again soon,  Across the Universe , (which according to my husband Jeff needed “less talking, more singing”), here are my top ten all time favorite Beatles songs…

10.) “You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away” – even the Eddie Vedder re-make didn’t ruin it for me.

9.) “Something” – Good old fashioned obsessive love song by George

8.) “A Day in the Life” – Good old fashioned ode to a suicide by John and Paul

7.) “If I Fell” – always a sentimental favorite.  This was on my CD player quite a bit in college – especially at the start of a new romance…

6.) “Eleanor Rigby” – I love teaching this one as poetry.  The kids dig it, too.

5.) “Blackbird” – this one makes me cry if  it catches me at a certain moment…

4.) “Here, There and Everywhere” – I would have played it as our wedding song, but it wasn’t one of the songs we were “allowed” to choose off the playlists.  Plebian DJs.

3.) “The Ballad of John and Yoko” – I love it and really can’t explain why – it’s just fabulous that I can’t EXPLAIN why…

2.) “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” – the older I get, the more I appreciate George’s songs over John’s, although John will always be my first Beatles love.

Hence the number one:

1.) “Tomorrow Never Knows” – Trippy, man.  Trippy and AWESOME, that is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

